Stuck in an Airport

I got up at 6:15 this morning for a flight that was supposed to depart at 10 for DC.  Then it got delayed until 10:36.  Then 10:24.  I was worried about making my flight to NY from DC.  I only had 30 minutes.  Then my flight from DC to NY got canceled due to weather.  Dodged a problem there.  As you can imagine, this was a fun experience for me.  A lot of text messages and phone calls were made to my family to get their opinions.  Tears may have been shed.  However, the folks at United are very nice and I got a flight to Chicago then a flight to NY from Chicago.  I just hope my checked bag got safely switched over.  Fingers crossed.  Now, I just have to wait a couple more hours.  Whatever, I’ll watch Netflix and knit or whatever.  Or look at all the Christmas Story stuff you can buy at the shops.  I’m not kidding.  You can buy multiple Christmas Story leg lamp items at the Indianapolis Airport.  So weird.  (For the non-Hoosiers: A Christmas Story takes place in Indiana)

The airport is basically empty.  I’m used to airports being packed with people.  Usually it takes at least 20 minutes to get through TSA screening.  It took me less than 10.  I don’t know if it’s because it’s before noon or because it isn’t during a major travel time.  It’s just odd to me.

At least I’m not flying Delta.

Leave a Reply

