Flight Troubles and On the Town

So my last post was made before I finished all my flights.  Here’s the end of that story:

The flight to Chicago ended up being delayed 30 minutes.  I knew I would only have 30 minutes to get to my flight to LaGuardia.  By the time my plane reached down in O’Hare and actually got into the gate, I had 15 minutes.  However, the airline texted me that there was at 3:00 option if needed.  Two heavy bags in hand, I booked over to the 3:00 flight.  I was told the other plane hadn’t left yet, but I should hurry.  Two heavy bags.  A few minutes.  10 gates away.  Ack.

So I rushed.  I told the man my other flight got delayed and asked had the plane left.  The door was locked.  But it hadn’t left.  There was something about it being delayed due to catering being delivered.  He got me onto the plane.  It was basically empty.  Like, each side had 3 seats.  None of the rows actually had 6 people on them. We were held for a couple more minutes while the finished delivering the catering and I prayed that my luggage got onto the plane.
It was a mildly bumpy plane ride, but we arrived safely in LaGuardia. Immediately as we landed, I got a message that I won the lottery for the musical On the Town! Only fitting as it would be my first night in New York.  I had applied for it on my phone when I still thought that I would be arriving around 2. But I still had time to spare. The checked luggage came out quickly and I was able to get to my shuttle towards Manhattan. I had to take a taxi to the house. I checked in, put my stuff down and headed towards the show.

The walk was cold and windy though really not too long.  I got my tickets, which were pretty damn good.  Orchestra.  I might write an actual review later, but overall it was charming.  I liked it.  I went to the stage door and got my Playbill signed.  Here are some photos:

Alysha Umpress

Alysha Umphress, who played Hildy, and was fab.

Jay Armstrong

Jay Armstrong Johnson, who played Chip, and I swear is a human rubber band.

Jackie Hoffman

Jackie Hoffman who is AMAZING.  There are very few words to accurately describe how funny she is.

After the show, I went back to my house and fairly quickly fell asleep.

Leave a Reply

