City Travels

I could discuss a number of things from the past few days: taking a giant walk around Chelsea when it was really cold, leg  pain from walking everywhere, my experience on the Subway, orientation, going to Trader Joe’s, but I’m not going to do that.  Instead, I am going to talking else: I think I found dramaturg heaven.

Drama book shop

OK, maybe it’s not entirely dramaturg heaven; I’m pretty sure that would have much more books on different types of history.  However, it’s pretty close.  They have what I am sure are hundreds of plays.  I got so overwhelmed going in there, that I forgot about what plays I’ve read or have been wanting to read.  I honestly couldn’t function. As I am writing this, I’m just remembering playwrights I like and kicking myself for just not thinking of them. The difference between me and some of the other people there was that I wasn’t looking for anything in particular.  Other folks were looking for audition pieces and I was just staring googly-eyed at all the plays.  I don’t even know where to begin! I ended up buying two things.  One was a book about learning Shakespeare that I wanted to look at for my future senior capstone (Shakespeare on Toast by Ben Crystal) and another was the one play I could remember being interested in reading (Tribes by Nina Raine). This place will be good for my learning, but maybe not so good for my bank account.

Leave a Reply

